Dart6UL with only one ethernet port [SOLVED]

Moderators: Oren.R, Eran.M, fradensky

cbrake
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:58 pm

Dart6UL with only one ethernet port [SOLVED]

Postby cbrake » Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:02 pm

Hi,

Our custom hardware only has one Ethernet port, and it does not work in Linux (no link lights, etc). I can ping from this Ethernet port in u-boot and the link ligthts work in u-boot.

Is any kernel configuration required if the second Ethernet port Phy is not present? I tried the below change, but it disabled both ports and it behaves similar to our custom hardware (no link lights, etc):

diff --git a/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-var-dart.dts b/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-var-dart.dts
index 29a9cc5..72e7b49 100644
--- a/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-var-dart.dts
+++ b/arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6ul-var-dart.dts
@@ -161,6 +161,7 @@
status = "okay";
};

+
&fec2 {
pinctrl-names = "default";
pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_enet2>;
@@ -168,7 +169,8 @@
phy-handle = <&ethphy1>;
phy-reset-gpios=<&gpio1 10 1>;
phy-reset-duration=<100>;
- status = "okay";
+ //status = "okay";
+
mdio {
#address-cells = <1>;
#size-cells = <0>;

I can disable the first port in the DTS, and the 2nd port (with external phy) works fine.

So, current theory is the absence of the 2nd port is somehow causing problems with first port.

Appreciate any ideas ...

Thanks,
Cliff

Aviad.H
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Dart6UL with only one ethernet port

Postby Aviad.H » Wed Oct 26, 2016 6:56 am

Hi,
In 'imx6ul-var-dart.dtsi' comment out or delete '&fec2' and 'pinctrl_enet2' sections.
In pinctrl_hog_1 change GPIO1_IO06, GPIO1_IO07 pins' pinmux from ENET2 to ENET1:

pinctrl_hog_1: hoggrp-1 {
fsl,pins = <
MX6UL_PAD_CSI_HSYNC__GPIO4_IO20 0x1b0b0 /* LED 1 */
MX6UL_PAD_CSI_DATA00__GPIO4_IO21 0x1b0b0 /* LED 2 */
MX6UL_PAD_GPIO1_IO00__GPIO1_IO00 0x17059 /* User Button */
MX6UL_PAD_GPIO1_IO07__ENET1_MDC 0x1b0b0
MX6UL_PAD_GPIO1_IO06__ENET1_MDIO 0x1b0b0
MX6UL_PAD_SNVS_TAMPER4__GPIO5_IO04 0x1b0b0 /* BT Enable */
MX6UL_PAD_SNVS_TAMPER0__GPIO5_IO00 0x1b0b0
>;
};

In &fec1 section add the mdio block with ethphy0 only:

&fec1 {
pinctrl-names = "default";
pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_enet1>;
phy-mode = "rmii";
phy-reset-gpios=<&gpio5 0 1>;
phy-reset-duration=<100>;
phy-handle = <&ethphy0>;
status = "okay";

mdio {
#address-cells = <1>;
#size-cells = <0>;

ethphy0: ethernet-phy@1 {
compatible = "ethernet-phy-ieee802.3-c22";
micrel,rmii-reference-clock-select-25-mhz;
clocks = <&rmii_ref_clk>;
clock-names = "rmii-ref";
reg = <1>;
};

};


};

Best Regards,
Aviad


Return to “Yocto”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests