Shutdown/Reboot not working on dart-mx6ul Fido, is patch required?

Moderators: Oren.R, Eran.M, fradensky

Manoj Naidu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:32 am

Shutdown/Reboot not working on dart-mx6ul Fido, is patch required?

Postby Manoj Naidu » Wed Jul 20, 2016 11:15 am

Hi,
I'm using mx6ul-dart-board.The problem I'm facing is when the watchdog daemon was started, if I issue the 'reboot' command on the serial console, device will begin the reboot sequence but hang at the end and not reboot.

Code: Select all

Please press Enter to activate this console.
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
/ #
/ #
/ #
/ #
/ # reboot
/ # Shutting down system...
Saving the System Clock time to the Hardware Clock...
Hardware Clock updated to Thu Jan  1 00:00:23 UTC 1970.
Deconfiguring network interfaces... done.
umount: can't remount tmpfs read-only
umount: tmpfs busy - remounted read-only
The system is going down NOW!
Sent SIGTERM to all processes
Sent SIGKILL to all processes
Requesting system reboot
imx2-wdt 20bc000.wdog: Device shutdown: Expect reboot!
reboot: Restarting system
mxc_restart: Watchdog reset failed to assert reset


It stops at mxc_restart. I have enabled watchdog in the uboot and set the timeout to 120s.

Manoj Naidu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:32 am

Re: Shutdown/Reboot not working on dart-mx6 Jethro, is patch required?

Postby Manoj Naidu » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:06 am

Hardware: VAR-DART-IMx6UL with custom hardware
Yocto: Yocto fsl-3.14.52ul Fido R2 Build Yocto release

Eran.M
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:49 am

Re: Shutdown/Reboot not working on dart-mx6 Jethro, is patch required?

Postby Eran.M » Mon Jul 25, 2016 2:26 pm

*Moved to the 6ul forum*

Hi Manoj.

I've looked into the 6ul reboot/wdog in Fido, and it works.
Please try to build the kernel again.
Did you build it a long time ago? A fix for this issue was committed in May 6th.

Manoj Naidu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:32 am

Re: Shutdown/Reboot not working on dart-mx6 Jethro, is patch required?

Postby Manoj Naidu » Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:02 pm

Hi Eran,
Thanks for the reply. I have applied the patch. Its working now.


Return to “Yocto”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest